Review | Vendetta – Catherine Doyle

22317508

Paperback (Chicken House, 339 pages)

First published 2015; this edition published 2015

Rating on Goodreads: 3 stars

“When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion in her neighbourhood, Sophie Gracewell’s life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nicoli, Sophie finds herself falling into a criminal underworld governed by powerful families. As the boys’ dark secrets begin to come to light, Sophie is confronted with stinging truths about her own family, too. She must choose between two warring dynasties – the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break.”


If someone throws a book at me and says, ‘modern day Romeo and Juliet’, I’m sold. I bought Vendetta with increasing excitement, and quickly sat down to read it.

And I did enjoy it. It didn’t blow me away, but it was a quick, easy read. Easy except for a few key points, which were quite shocking and visceral. Barry Cunningham of Chicken House mentions that the book is like watching a movie, and I have to agree. The book is fast-paced and filled with action – as you’d expect from a book about a criminal underworld.

Sophie was wonderful as a character, but the most surprising character was Luca; I really didn’t think I’d like him as much as I ended up doing. I also had a soft spot for Valentino; I’m a sucker for soft-spoken, intellectual guys.

What I will say is that at points the book, even though fast-paced, had a few moments where it seemed to lag. I found myself almost skimming at those points – but overall, the book is a great young adult book, with a fresh new voice to add to the young adult fiction world.

Leave a Reply

