Review | Animal Farm – George Orwell

774310

Paperback (Penguin Modern Classics, 120 pages)

First published 1945; this edition published 2000

Rating on Goodreads: 2 stars

“‘It is the history of a revolution that went wrong – and of the excellent excuses that were forthcoming at every step for the perversion of the original doctrine,’ wrote Orwell for the first edition of Animal Farm in 1945. Orwell wrote the novel at the end of 1943, but it almost remained unpublished. Its savage attack on Stalin, at that time Britain’s ally, led to the book being refused by publisher after publisher. Orwell’s simple, tragic fable, telling what happens when the animals drive out Mr Jones and attempt to run the farm themselves, has since become a world famous classic.”


 

What a load of rubbish.

I mean, I kind of expected it to be awful – what with father, brother, and friends telling me to stay away – but it’s Orwell. I had to try, at least. It didn’t take me long to read, but I honestly wish I’d never touched the damn book. It’s all sorts of ridiculous. A children’s fable for adults – but it’s just terrible. I suspect it was of its time, and perhaps it was more revered then, but I honestly can’t see the merit, nor the appeal. Yes, I am well aware of the connotations, but it’s just such an uninspiring book that the historical meanings seem to be of little consequence.

Stay away from this book. It’s absolutely terrible.

Leave a Reply

