Review | Angelfall – Susan Ee

17789310

Paperback (Hodder and Stoughton, 325 pages)

First published 2011; this edition published 2013

Rating on Goodreads: 3 stars

(Won on Goodreads)

“It’s been six weeks since the angels of the apocalypse destroyed the world as we know it. Only pockets of humanity remain. 

Savage street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. 

When angels fly away with a helpless girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back…”


Another dystopian, another ‘end of the world’ type novel.

I’ll admit, Angelfall does have its original elements, but overall, to me it feels like another tired YA novel with the girl fighting for survival whilst simultaneously trying not to fall in love. Seriously? *headdesk*

The idea of angels being the ‘bad guys’ appeals to me, and that’s why I was so pleased to receive a copy of Angelfall, but the novel, though I read it in one setting, just didn’t stand out for me. If it was standing in a row of other YA novels, it wouldn’t stand out to me. Susan Ee’s writing is readable, but not revolutionary. It’s enjoyable, but I wouldn’t read this again. Nor would I continue to read the series.

The inclusion of mental illness is a pleasing one; it’s rare that I see mental illness in stories that isn’t part of the plot. But it seemed almost glamourised. And that is a dangerous thing. It could have been handled well, but I really feel it wasn’t in Angelfall.

This was an enjoyable read – with a few moments that made me wince – but overall, I wouldn’t recommend it if you’re looking for an original YA dystopian novel.

 

Leave a Reply

