Review | Solitaire – Alice Oseman

20618110

Paperback (HarperCollins, 400 pages)

First published 2014; this edition published 2014

Rating on Goodreads: 4 stars

“In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.”


 Oh, Tori, how I relate to you.

I mean, I was never quite as cynical as you are at that age (though I make up for that now!) but Alice Oseman has managed to capture the realism of a modern teenager perfectly. Tori isn’t a manic pixie dream girl, she’s flawed and sarcastic and although she did annoy me at times, I never disliked her as a character.

Michael Holden, though… oh my god, someone get me a damn Magnum so I can *BANG*. I really did not like him one bit. In fact, I disliked several characters, but I know that the reader is meant to do just that. Or maybe I’m just a grumpy nineteen year old who hates people. I don’t know. What I do know is that I liked this book, however I did find the ending a little unsatisfying. Perhaps that was because of all the hype. But I was expecting something with a little more oomph.

Saying that though, the fact that Alice Oseman wrote this as a teenager is fantastic. Her prose is wonderful, and fun to read. I will definitely be picking up her next novel (I hear she’s writing another one, hurrah). I’m quite fond of the cover, too.

So if you’re a disillusioned teenager, a grumpy teenager, or just a teenager/young adult in general, I think you’ll like this. Go read it.

 

Leave a Reply

