Review | The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains – Neil Gaiman

22565395

Hardcover (Headline, 74 pages; sent by Bookbridgr – thank you!)

First published 2010; this edition published 2014

Rating on Goodreads: 3 stars

Beautifully illustrated by renowned artist Eddie Campbell, this is a four-colour edition of Neil Gaiman’s award-winning novelette “The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains”- a haunting story of family, the otherworld, and a search for hidden treasure.

The text of The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains was first published in the collection Stories: All New Tales (Headline, 2010). This gorgeous full-colour illustrated book version was born of a unique collaboration between writer Neil Gaiman and artist Eddie Campbell, who brought to vivid life the characters and landscape of Gaiman’s story.”


I loved the story, really disliked the artwork.

I don’t often read graphic novels, but when I do, the illustrations are so, so important to me. And I so badly wanted to love this one, but I couldn’t. The story was fantastic – it’s Gaiman; how could it not be? – but the artwork struck me as crude, and not in an artistic way. It seemed rushed, almost. And there are two different styles of artwork in this graphic novel, in different types of panel, which again threw me off. The combination of art and text did not mesh well, in my opinion, and it was very jarring at times.

Saying that, though, I am fond of the story. I am fond of Gaiman’s work full stop. This tale did not disappoint in the least. There was plenty of magic and mystery to be found in there, and despite some of the story being told through the crude artwork, it was a story that I am glad to have read. It’s a quick read for an afternoon, especially if you like your stories to have a little folk-esque aspect to them.

 

One thought on “Review | The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains – Neil Gaiman

  1. Interesting review. I have not seen the book yet so I don’t know whether I’d like the artwork, but I think it is relevant to rate how the artwork ties into the story as you did, because it can be just as important as the writing.

Leave a Reply

