Review | We Were Liars – E Lockhart

16143347

Paperback (Hot Key Books, 240 pages)

First published 2014; this edition published 2014

Rating on Goodreads: 5 stars

“We are the Liars.

We are beautiful, privileged and live a life of carefree luxury.

We are cracked and broken.

A story of love and romance.

A tale of tragedy.

Which are lies?

Which is truth?”


What an intriguing, twisting, intelligent story. Even those it’s a short novel, it really does manage to pack a punch, and I was left reeling by the time I turned the last page. I won’t elaborate further on the  plot, save that it will shock you and make you think twice about everything.

Honestly, read it. YA may not be your thing, but We Were Liars is one of those books that manages to transcend the genre and pass into adult fiction. It might have hints of Gossip Girl, but We Were Liars is infinitely cleverer, better fleshed-out, and somehow more evocative despite the short length.

Admittedly, I read this because of the hype surrounding We Were Liars – kudos to Hot Key Books for the successful marketing campaign – but I don’t regret falling onto that wagon at all. I might often prefer adult fiction to YA, but We Were Liars is tantalising, and I think it’s drawing me back into the YA world. E Lockhart has crafted a brilliant, poignant tale, full of likeable and loathsome characters, and her simple yet beautiful writing style is gorgeous to engage with.

We Were Liars is a book that still clings to my mind, and I suspect it will for quite a long time. I think I might read it again, if only to try and figure out how certain events unfolded.

 

One thought on “Review | We Were Liars – E Lockhart

  1. Everyone really seems to enjoy this book! I haven’t had the chance to read it yet but I can’t wait to get my own copy..There’s definitely a lot of hype surrounding the book! I’m glad you liked the story. Great review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

